Montreaux, Switzerland

 

For my first Christmas away from my immediate family, I was with family in Switzerland. I made another trip to Nyon and had the pleasure of experiencing Switzerland in the winter. It was quite nice seeing the snow on the mountains and getting a chance to visit the Christmas markets.

Christmas is one of my favorite times of the year as cliche as it sounds. I absolutely love everything about Christmas. Growing up Christmas wasn’t a big deal, we didn’t decorate our house with a Christmas tree, hang stockings or have Christmas decor all over the house. I’m not sure how or why I grew to love Christmas but I love it and I can’t wait to have my own family and decorate my house with Christmas decor. Anyways, Christmas markets aren’t very popular in America, matter of fact now that I come to think of it, I never heard of such a thing until moving to Europe. Christmas markets are quite popular in Europe. Basically, a Christmas markets are set up in specific areas and there are a bunch of vendors set up selling hand crafted items, and trinkets as well as food vendors and of course drinks are sold too!  I visited a Christmas market in Montreaux with my uncle and I absolutely enjoyed it.

Montreaux is located right on the water and was extremely easy to get to. We took the train from Nyon and got off right in the middle of Montreaux. My favorite part about this day trip was enjoying some of the traditional food while enjoying the view of the water and the mountains. I don’t remember the name of the dish I had but it was delicious and probably mostly due to the fact that I LOVE cheese!

I would definitely recommend visiting Switzerland during the winter, bearing the cold and enjoying Christmas markets along the water.

Leave a Reply

