Barcelona

Barcelona is one of my favorite places to visit in Spain. The nightlife, the beach, the sight seeing, I absolutely love all of it! I took a quick weekend trip to Barcelona while my friend was visiting. We stayed in a hostel, which is normal for me while traveling. I would not stay at this hostel again, but nonetheless I made due for the short two nights that I would be there.

We got into Barcelona early on a Friday morning and left on a Sunday evening. While there, we managed to do a bit of sight seeing. Barcelona is a unique city with so many attractions to see and so many things to experience. Since I was in Barcelona for a very short time, I didn’t get a chance to see all of the attractions or go on any excursions. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed my short time in Barcelona while getting very minimal sleep. I’ve always heard that New York is the city that doesn’t sleep, but since living in Spain, I’m beginning to think that Spain is just the country that doesn’t sleep!

On the first day, we arrived to our hostel which was located right in Las Ramblas, checked into our rooms and then dropped off our luggage. I was placed in a room with some Italians who I’m still friends with to this day. They were great roommates and even better exploring friends. They are from northern Italy right outside of Milan and close to Lake Como. Yes, you guessed it. I will be visiting them sometime soon in Northern Italy since it’s also a place I’ve never been. I’ve only explored Southern Italy. But back to Barcelona…..

With my new Italian friends, I explored a bit of Barcelona and got to see some of the attractions Barcelona has to offer. We walked what seemed like forever and passed through the Gothic Quarters (Barrio Gotico), Parc Ciutadella, Cathedral of Barcelona, Arc de Triomf and then later we went out for dinner.

The Gothic Quarter is the center of the old city of Barcelona and has beautiful architecture which dates back to Roman medieval times. There are many squares and landmarks within the Gothic Quarter including: City Hall, Carrer del Bisbe and the Barcelona Cathedral to name a few.

 

Barcelona Cathedral 

Carrer del Bisbe & City Hall

After we were done doing a little exploring and everyone took a siesta, we went out for a fabulous dinner at La Fonda . We shared a paella, had wine and some desserts with coffee. The food was excellent and I would definitely recommend eating here if you are in Barcelona and close to Las Ramblas.

Above pretty much sums up how my Friday was spent after arriving to Barcelona around 8AM. My Saturday was spent with one of my best friends who came to visit as well as her roommate. We went to Parc de la Ciutadella, Sagrada Familia, Arc de Triomf, and then walked around Las Ramblas.

Parc de la Ciutadella at one point was the only green space in the city. The Parc de la Ciutadella is also well known for the Cascada (waterfall) and is home to the zoo of Barcelona as well as a Natural Science Museum. Parc de la Ciutadella is great for photos and also a great place to enjoy a picnic or siesta outdoors.

IMG_1607IMG_1610IMG_1613IMG_1617IMG_1640

IMG_1623

Right across the street from Parc de la Ciutadella is the Arc de Triomf. This Arc was built as an entrance to the Universal Exhibition hosted by the city in 1888.

IMG_1654IMG_1651IMG_1657IMG_1650IMG_1668IMG_1662IMG_1665

Although I didn’t purchase a ticket to actually enter the Sagrada Familia, I still managed to capture a photo of the exterior. Not going into the famed Sagrada Familia just gives me an excuse to make a return trip to Barcelona!

This was a very quick but fun and fulfilling trip with my friends! I can’t wait to return to Barcelona. I may have caught the moving bug and just might have to move to Barcelona!

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

