Santorini

Santorini is a place I have always only dreamed of going to. I used to always say that if and when I get married that I wanted to go to Santorini for my honeymoon. I have always seen pictures and would always imagine myself in Santorini soaking in all that the Greek island had to offer. Fortunately for me, I no longer have to wait to see if I get married and if my honeymoon destination will be Santorini because I took myself to Santorini for my spring break.

As you have probably already read from my previous post, I started in Athens and then took the Blue Star Ferry to Santorini. Santorini is absolutely a breathtaking place. Upon arriving to Santorini, I was quite emotional and shed a few baby tears. As I stated earlier, I’ve only always dreamed of going to Santorini. I actually remember making a travel bucket list board on Pinterest and pinning Santorini. Well as the universe would have it, I made it to Santorini for a week.

I stayed at Galatia Villas  which is located in Fira and very close to Thira. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Galatia Villas and absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for accommodation in Santorini. The place was very clean and the entire staff was extremely helpful!  IMG_7858Santorini is an extremely small but beautiful island. I believe that I saw the entire island in the week that I was there. To start off there is Fira and then about ten minutes walking if even that long, you will be in Thira. In Thira there are many restaurants and it is also where you will find the vendors to buy your ferry tickets.

Originally the plan was to stay in Santorini for about three days and then head to Mykonos for two days and then back to Athens where I would leave to head back to Madrid. Well the weather certainly had other plans. It was EXTREMELY windy on the island and when I say windy, I’m talking tropical storm wind windy. Because of the extreme wind, the smaller ferry to Mykonos was unable to leave the port in Santorini, so we got stuck in Santorini for a week. Of course, no complaints by me because being stuck in Santorini is a problem I’m sure many people would love to have.

One of my favorite things to do while in Santorini, was watching the sunset. Sunset is by far my favorite part of the day. Not only is it beautiful to watch, it’s very calming and relaxing and a great time to reflect on the day you had. The sunset in Santorini is one of the most beautiful sunsets I have seen in my entire life. Now keep in mind I’ve traveled to many countries and have seen many sunsets.

IMG_4732 (1)IMG_5140We took the bus from Thira to Oia which is about maybe a 30 minute drive and walked around the town and saw many beautiful sights. While we were walking around we came across the office for Sunset Oia Cruises and I immediately knew I wanted to do the cruise. I mean how often do you get to go to Santorini and take a sunset cruise? I remember immediately calling my mother and telling her the price and what was included with the price. It seemed like a lot of money BUT there food, drinks and transportation to and from the port were included and it was a once in a lifetime opportunity to me. I had already justified spending the money in my mind and just needed the confirmation from my mother that I wasn’t crazy for spending this money on a day cruise around the island of Santorini. After having the conversation with my mother to justify spending this money, I booked my day cruise around the island of Santorini and was so happy and excited that in the next few days I would be sailing Santorini on a yacht in the Mediterranean Sea.

The sunset cruise was absolutely amazing. We started off in Ammoudi where we boarded our yacht and would begin our day of sailing. From Ammoudi we went to the Hot Springs located close to the volcano, the Red Beach, the White Beach, the Black Beach and then back to Oia to watch the sunset. The cruise included drinks (wine, alochol, sodas, water) and a great amount of food. We started off with sandwiches and pretzel sticks and then later had traditional Greek food including shrimp saganaki, stuffed wine leaves, Greek salad, sausages and many other things. The food was made in the kitchen of the yacht and the meat was cooked on the grill on the deck of the yacht. It was truly a fun and amazing experience. I HIGHLY recommend doing this cruise if in Santorini and you have the time. I guarantee you won’t regret it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oia is nice to go to if you want to see some amazing views, catch the sunset, go shopping or get some food.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you want to see the black sand beach you should head over to Perissa where there are also a lot of restaurants and bars. When I was Santorini it was low season so not all of the restaurants and bars were open, but I can recommend you go to the Beach Bar. It is actually called the Beach Bar and is right in front of the water. It has a nice beachy vibe and is a cool place to just hang out and get a drink. There is also Aquarius which is a restaurant also located in Perissa and if you go I recommend you order the salmon pene pasta with caviar. It is simply DELICIOUS!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once you are done with Perissa you can head to the Red Sand beach of Akrotiri.

IMG_9067 (1)

Getting around the island is quite simple. You can take the bus which is extremely cheap, rent an ATV or a motorbike or rent a car. We opted to rent an ATV for the day which was only 20 euro and filling it up with gas was about 5-10 euro. I definitely recommend renting a motorbike or ATV. It is very easy to navigate the island and find your way around. It so much fun and always makes for a great experience which makes for a great story.

If you want extremely delicious traditional Greek food i HIGHLY recommend going to Metaxy Mas and Cava Alta. Hands down THE best food I had while in Greece. The food is perfectly seasoned and the portions are sure to have you feeling quite full.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have to say that going to Santorini and being stuck for a week was definitely one of my favorite and most trips by far. The food is amazing, the people are so warm and welcoming and the island is just beautiful! The island is small but definitely does NOT lack in nightlife. For nightlife, in Thira I recommend Two Brothers bar and The Highlander Bar. I went to both pretty much every night that I was in Santorini and met so many people, made new friends and had a blast! Santorini is definitely a place that you should put at the top of your travel bucket list!

About the post

Uncategorized

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Awesome! Thanks for this post! I’ll be there in a couple of weeks and have already booked thr sunset cruise! Glad to know it was awesome! I’ll definitely check out your recommendations! Thanks again!

    Like

    • Glad you enjoyed this post! Thank you for visiting my blog and taking time to read my post, I’m truly appreciative. I hope you enjoy your trip and please let the sunset cruise staff know that you found out about them through my blog! Thanks! Hope you read my future posts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

